Eatting along the Solway coast

15 May

On a recent trip to Scotland camping (Dumfries and Galloway area) we found a great camp site – Solway Seaview ,a small but really friendly site right on the Solway firth coast. superb weather for camping!!

the site had wigwams too!

Sausage & bacon butties on the beach , these were followed with fresh mussels from the firth picked by me and the girls.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fresh Mussels

What you need: A beautiful hot day, Hot pan on the beach (Yes! I brought my gas stove along) smoked bacon fat , fresh mussels (washed and cleaned on the beach) , a little garlic clove (I always carry around in my rucksack, don’t you?) , plate over the mussels. 10 minutes and bobs your uncle – beautiful tasty Scottish mussels straight from the sea. 

The kids wouldn’t try the mussels as they thought it was cruel to kill them in the first place.They were just clinging on to the rocks minding their own business minutes  before I came along ( and them) to eat them. So the Girls had a mussel funnel on the beach with gravestones and names for each victim  ,  weird children !

2 Responses to “Eatting along the Solway coast”

  1. Maritza S. Benjamin June 9, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

    I love just about everything from the sea , and mussels are no exception. Mussels are great during the Summer because they are quick to cook and require little prep work. Topped with a saffron sauce, these mussels are scrumptious. Saffron is an expensive spice, but it’s packed full of flavor and a little goes a long way. When eating mussels, I enjoy the sauce, so I increased the sauce-to-mussel ratio. While the original recipe doesn’t call for carrots, their addition adds both crunch and sweetness, which complements the creamy sauce and salty mussels. Don’t forget to pick up a baguette to serve with the mussels: My guests were practically licking their bowls clean! To get started on this simple yet decadent dish keep reading.

  2. David May 15, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    funny daddy! this is annie. u forgot about the crab though!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Adventures in the UK!

Chronicles of a Texan's study abroad and internship experience in London

Sharing The Food We Love

create | eat | love | share

DINNER BANK

cooking with love from all over the world

Make-Meals Mama

My family is my life. Lucky for me, my kids are adventurous eaters. Lucky for them too! Support small business (caters and personal chefs!) My page: www.facebook.com/MakeMeals

ValDishesOut

my passion for food, fitness and healthy living

The Errant Diner

Break Bread, Break Boundaries

Palate For Hire

All About Flavour

two.thirty.ate.

we cook. we eat. we share.

