Fruits of our garden!

2 Sep

Here we are again in the garden on a bright and sunny day,there are fruits on the trees nice and ripe – I’ve got loads of bramble bushes with big black Blackberries on them, I’ve got strawberries and a tree full of apples ready to drop! Yes you’ve guessed it I’m gonna make some jam …  O Yes I am!  

I thought i’d have a go at making some jam  using some blackberries , strawberries , vanilla ,apples some sugar and water. i ‘ve made blackberry or Hedgerow jam before with good results – i wouldn’t say i’m a great jam maker – but I find its fun , the kids like it and I’m a lover of jam in the morning on my toast!

         

you need to make sure you have plenty of fruit around 3lb – with 2lb castor sugar and 1pt water. Add 1 vanilla pod split down the middle (remember to take this out afterwards) , I add a little pectin – 1 table-spoon will do. The pectin stops the jam setting to a thick caramel – its used for gelling foods in particular jams. 

Mix the fruit together and bring to boil.  add the vanilla & pectin .Simmer down the jam and let “tick over” for 30 mins to allow the apples to break down. Make sure you sterilize your jam jars and lids using a dishwasher I find  is the best way , allow to air cool , fill the jars while the mix is still hot to warm.

place the lids on the jam jars while still warm – seal tightly and leave at room temperature to cool. I’ve got plenty Apples left – so plenty apple crumbles for the family to sample ! Happy Jam making 🙂

6 Responses to “Fruits of our garden!”

  1. David September 11, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    Vanilla is good flavour enhancer – I ‘ve been lucky this year with my fruits as last year birds ate most of my berries and the apples were’nt as good !! making jam’s & chutneys keeps a little bit of summer going through the cold months..

  2. wendy kitching September 9, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    I love making jam too…but ii cheat using microwave..it’s much quicker! Got loadsa of gooseberries to make jam with blackberries when theyre ready – kids think gooseberries too hairy on their own;)

    • David September 12, 2010 at 9:00 am #

      Well hello there !! you know me I carnt cheat when it comes to making things!! i like your website – nice, noticed your following me on twitter too … hope everything is good inthe kitchen household ? 🙂

      • wendy kitching September 13, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

        Yep..Adam did really well in his GCSE’s, allotment doing well etc. Hope you are all well.
        Take care. Me!

  3. wendy kitching September 9, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    At last I’ve found you. things seem to be going really well for you! Best wishes;)

  4. rebekah September 7, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

    I’ve not tried putting vanilla in jams, but that’s a great idea. So far this year I’ve made lemon marmalade and loads of raspberry jam from fresh picked berries. Yours look divine.

Leave a Reply

Adventures in the UK!

Chronicles of a Texan's study abroad and internship experience in London

Sharing The Food We Love

create | eat | love | share

DINNER BANK

cooking with love from all over the world

Make-Meals Mama

My family is my life. Lucky for me, my kids are adventurous eaters. Lucky for them too! Support small business (caters and personal chefs!) My page: www.facebook.com/MakeMeals

ValDishesOut

my passion for food, fitness and healthy living

The Errant Diner

Break Bread, Break Boundaries

Palate For Hire

All About Flavour

two.thirty.ate.

we cook. we eat. we share.

