Banana and Toffee Loaf

12 Mar

I think we’ll have a go at making a Banana & toffee loaf cake – I ‘ve made this loads of times with the kids.
first stage is to make a toffee (butterscotch) sauce , then chop the bananas & blend with the butter or margarine, brown sugar & ginger – ensure you blend well creaming it all together 
This cake is great fun and generally you can add some sultanas , dates any spice – cinnamon , nutmeg or ginger as I have
I make it with old bananas as these seem to have the best “bananary? ” flavour ( chefs are bad spellers’) thank god for spell check! mix through the beaten eggs then add the dry bits flour an’ all can be mixed with the wet stuff. 1 teaspoon of baking powder is all that’s needed to make a loaf (you get 8 good slices)
the loaf should be baked through the oven for around 15-18 mins at around 180 degrees.
once cooked pour the Hot Butterscotch over the loaf and allow to soak in. Remove and cut once cool or cool (ish) i’ve served 2 slices with some chantily cream>:) check out the A to Z recipe under the recipe tab.


Hope you enjoy – I’ll add some pics in the morning , check out the A to Z download and give it a try
let me know what you think

3 Responses to “Banana and Toffee Loaf”

  1. Hutton June 3, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    Yeah, it’s good, very useful, thanks 🙂

    • David June 7, 2010 at 8:23 pm #

      Glad you like the recipe – I try to add recipes & pictures when I can , being a chef I’m fairly busy most of the time! do you have a blog ?

  2. lucy March 21, 2010 at 3:19 pm #

    hello its me again i enjoyed making this yummy desert hope you will to you can try big portions or small portions whatever suits you.

    bye

Leave a Reply

Adventures in the UK!

Chronicles of a Texan's study abroad and internship experience in London

Sharing The Food We Love

create | eat | love | share

DINNER BANK

cooking with love from all over the world

Make-Meals Mama

My family is my life. Lucky for me, my kids are adventurous eaters. Lucky for them too! Support small business (caters and personal chefs!) My page: www.facebook.com/MakeMeals

ValDishesOut

my passion for food, fitness and healthy living

The Errant Diner

Break Bread, Break Boundaries

Palate For Hire

All About Flavour

two.thirty.ate.

we cook. we eat. we share.

