Passion for food

10 Mar

Hello and welcome one an all! I’m glad you can join me on my journey through some of my favourite dishes – we’ll laugh & cry( only if it goes pear-shaped!) then we’ll laugh again when I let the kids have a go.

Spring is bounding up the road and it’s well on the way to being Easter – but it’s still a little chilly out there , so I’ve banged together this little number. let me know what you think , also any favourite dishes you’ve got let me know – I’ll try to replicate (with the help of my two little chefs Lucy & Annie) maybe even enhance!  

A lovely Warming dish(although granted you could have in Autumn or winter also) is roast venison – done in two ways 1st. braised with baby onions & chestnut mushrooms – the mix is slow cooked in red wine,rosemary & reduced by half , then served in a puff pastry casket(a pit posh – a box will do). 

2nd Vension saddle roasted with a light seasoning of lime, sea salt and cracked black pepper cooked in a hot saute pan with  lots of butter (coat the venison with the hot butter – this gives it a lovely golden colour) then once a nice colour is achieved pop it in the oven around 190 degrees for 5-8 mins.

I’ve served this with some braised cabbage with raisins and cider vinegar(very seasonal!) 

I hope to have A to Z step by step recipe cards on here soon – so look out for them

6 Responses to “Passion for food”

  1. Lyssa March 14, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

    Sounds wonderful! Do you know any places buy venison? We don’t hunt (or really know anyone who does), and I’ve never seen it in a store.

    • David March 18, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

      Most supermarkets now sell vension or Roe deer usually can be bought as either saddle or haunch. I get my meat from a great local butcher I pay a bit more for it but the quality is good.( from a north yorkshire farm)
      glad you like the dish – have you tried the bread? >:)

  2. kiwiswiss March 12, 2010 at 3:15 am #

    Like the look/sound of the lime, sea salt and pepper seasoning. Must send my husband out to get a deer….

    • David March 12, 2010 at 12:55 pm #

      I like the idea of just being able to go out and get yourself a dear!
      I like your bread recipe too. I too am a regular bread maker(by hand) no bread machines – rosemary foccacia , brioche (kids like the chocolate best) – I ‘ll be having a go this weekend

  3. annie March 11, 2010 at 8:12 am #

    love your blog you even put the guinea pigs name on.yu put mine and lucys aswell.BYE
    Love you lots love Annie XXX

  4. David March 10, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    give it a go – can be done with beef fillet

Leave a Reply

Adventures in the UK!

Chronicles of a Texan's study abroad and internship experience in London

Sharing The Food We Love

create | eat | love | share

DINNER BANK

cooking with love from all over the world

Make-Meals Mama

My family is my life. Lucky for me, my kids are adventurous eaters. Lucky for them too! Support small business (caters and personal chefs!) My page: www.facebook.com/MakeMeals

ValDishesOut

my passion for food, fitness and healthy living

The Errant Diner

Break Bread, Break Boundaries

Palate For Hire

All About Flavour

two.thirty.ate.

we cook. we eat. we share.

